The 2021 Œil d’or Award: A night of knowing nothing by Payal Kapadia

A country without a documentary is like a family without a photograph

Patricio Guzmán

Since 2015, L'Œil d'or - Le Prix du documentaire highlights at the Cannes Film Festival this film genre by which the 7th art was born. It is awarded to a documentary screened in one of the Festival de Cannes categories: Sélection officielle (Competition, Un Certain Regard, Hors compétition & Séances de Minuit, Séances Spéciales, Short Films, Cannes Classics), Directors’ Fortnight and Semaine de la Critique. From now on, the film that wins the “Golden Eye Documentary Prize” is eligible to submit for Oscar consideration. In 2019, the jury headed by French director Yolande Zauberman crowned For Samadirected by Waad Al Kateab & Edward Watts and La Cordillera de los sueños directed by Patricio Guzmán (Sélection officielle – Séances spéciales). The L’Œil d’or - Documentary Award (€5,000 prize) was created in 2015 by LaScam (French-speaking authors’ society) in collaboration with the Festival de Cannes.

The ‘L'Œil d’Or’ and a €5,000 prize will be presented to the creators of the winning film

The prize rewarded
A night of knowing nothing
by Payal Kapadia
on Saturday July 17th 2021